State of Origin Speedway Returns


Jason Crump ©Stephen Hope

For the third year in a row, the Rockhampton Showgrounds will play host to one of the largest speedway meetings in Australia, with the 2017 MEM Speedway Bike Spectacular this Saturday night, July 15.

Headlined again by former three-time world champion, Jason Crump, the bumper field includes 35 solos, 15 sidecars and 5 250cc solos.

This year’s event will see the return of State of Origin speedway, with the five best QLD riders going head to head with the best NSW has to offer. Just three days after the capitulation of NSW at Suncorp Stadium, NSW speedway team captain, Alan Macdonald will be looking to restore some blues pride and get one back over QLD captain, Crump.

Gates open at 3pm. Racing from 5pm

A Grade Solo:

Jason Crump, Zaine Kennedy, Hugh Skidmore, Kozza Smith, Josh Coyne, Luke Kluver, Joel Coyne, Josh Macdonald, Alan Macdonald,  Zane Keleher, Kye Thompson, Tyson Snow, Declan Kennedy, Kane Lawrence, James Davies, Matt Pickering.

2016 MEM Speedway Spectacular – 2nd – Zaine Kennedy, 1st – Josh Pickering, 3rd – Jason Crump.

Zaine Kennedy
Jason Crump with event promoter Bill Warwick-Day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *