Tungate Takes Rd 1

Rohan Tungate

Rohan Tungate showed his rivals the way around Kurri Kurri as he made a sensational start to the Australian Championship with victory in round one on Saturday.

Lining up in his home town, Tungate dropped just one point to 2016 Aussie champion Brady Kurtz in race five.

But he was unstoppable in the A Final. Despite seeing the red lights when he held a commanding lead at the first attempt, he triumphed in the re-run to claim 18 out of a possible 19 points.

Edinburgh racer Josh Pickering made a real statement of his intent with second place in the A Final to go third in the overall standings on 14. He scored 11 in the heats, before winning the B Final ahead of Torun and Somerset star Jack Holder, the promising Jaimon Lidsey and local racer Mason Campton.

Former World Under-21 champion Max Fricke went second in the championship after finishing third in the A Final. This saw him end on 15 after he recorded 13 in the heats.

Kurtz joined Tungate and Fricke in qualifying directly for the A Final after defying an exclusion to make it through with four heat wins and 12 points. But his A-Final fall saw him go fourth on the table after round one.

The next Aussie Championship action takes place at Victorian track Undera on Wednesday.

AUSTRALIAN CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1 Rohan Tungate 18, 2 Max Fricke 15, 3 Josh Pickering 14, 4 Brady Kurtz 12, 5 Jaimon Lidsey 11, 6 Mason Campton 10, 7 Jack Holder 9, 8= Sam Masters 7, Jordan Stewart 7, 10 Matthew Gilmore 6, 11= Robert Medson 5, Jye Etheridge 5, 13 Joel Coyne 4, 14 Cooper Riordan 3, 15 Declan Knowles 2, 16 James Davies 1.

B Final: Pickering, Holder, Lidsey, Campton.

A Final: Tungate, Pickering, Fricke, Kurtz (f.exc).

Source: SGP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *