Two In A Row For Tungate

Australian Championship frontrunner Rohan Tungate was elated to overcome his Undera hoodoo as he won a second straight round to take an eight-point lead in the series on Wednesday.

Tungate triumphed in the opener at Kurri Kurri on Saturday and he brought his red-hot form to Victoria, qualifying directly for the A Final with 13 points, before winning the race ahead of Sam Masters, B Final winner Jack Holder and Brady Kurtz, who was excluded from a second consecutive A Final.

Kurri Kurri-born Tungate admitted Undera wasn’t one of his favourite tracks before the meeting. So he was delighted to strengthen his grip on top spot, which he holds with 35 points, having dropped just three all series.

He said: “I was really happy to make the final and to win is something special. I’ve got the monkey off my back with Undera, so I can like the track again. I’m just really stoked to win.

“When you’re riding well, you’re confident and it all just falls into place most times. But I have to be on my game, do all I can and keep plugging away at the points. We found a good setup in the end and I was pretty comfortable.”

Kurtz moved up to second in the standings on 27 after a 15-point maximum in the heats, but disaster struck in the A Final when he was adjudged to have brought down Holder as they flew into lap two, turn one.

Fricke drops down to third place on 26 after being eliminated in the B Final by a great ride from Holder, who only crept into the last-chance race on countback with eight points. Third spot in the A Final puts Holder sixth overall on 19.

Second spot on the night moves Masters up to fourth on 23. He scored 13 in the heats to qualify automatically for the A Final, but couldn’t get the better of Tungate.

The next round takes place at Mildura’s Olympic Park on Friday.

AUSTRALIAN CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1 Rohan Tungate 35, 2 Brady Kurtz 27, 3 Max Fricke 26, 4 Sam Masters 23, 5 Josh Pickering 20, 6 Jack Holder 19, 7 Mason Campton 18, 8 Jordan Stewart 16, 9 Jaimon Lidsey 15, 10 Matthew Gilmore 14, 11 Jye Etheridge 13, 12= Robert Medson 9, Cooper Riordan 9, 14 Joel Coyne 6, 15 Declan Knowles 5, 16 James Davies 3.

UNDERA HEAT SCORES: 1 Brady Kurtz 15, 2 Sam Masters 13, 3 Rohan Tungate 13, 4 Max Fricke 11, 5 Jordan Stewart 9, 6 Matthew Gilmore 8, 7 Jack Holder 8, 8 Mason Campton 8, 9 Jye Etheridge 8, 10 Cooper Riordan 6, 11 Josh Pickering 6, 12 Jaimon Lidsey 4, 13 Robert Medson 4, 14 Declan Knowles 3, 15 James Davies 2, 16 Joel Coyne 2, 17 Matthew Pickering 0, 18 Ben Cook DNR.

B Final: Holder, Fricke, Gilmore, Stewart (f).

A Final: Tungate, Masters, Holder, Kurtz (exc).

Source: SGP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *